SkyTeam named ‘Airline Alliance of the Year’ 2015!

On 23 March in Geneva, the global airline alliance SkyTeam, of which Air France is a founding member, was named ‘Airline Alliance of the Year’ at the 2015 Air Transport News awards. The award comes in SkyTeam’s 15th anniversary year, as the alliance continues its rollout of customer-focused initiatives across its global network. 

The finalists in each category of the Air Transport News Awards are voted for each year by readers of the magazine Air Transport News, with winners decided by a jury of experts from the air transport industry.

At the Awards ceremony, Michael Wisbrun, SkyTeam’s Chief Executive Officer said: "The customer focused initiatives and projects we are implementing have enhanced our passengers’ travel experience, taking seamlessness and efficiency to a new level globally."

The SkyTeam alliance is multiplying its initiatives at the service of its airlines’ customers, including SkyPriority, which guarantees priority airport services for Business, La Première and Elite Plus passengers, new SkyTeam Exclusive lounges in Sydney, Dubai, Beijing and Hong Kong, and SkyTransfer, which ensures seamless and efficient transfers for connecting passengers and their bags. 


The SkyTeam alliance was set up in 2000 by Air France, Aeromexico, Delta and Korean. In 2015, it has 20 members: Air France, KLM, Aeroflot, Aerolíneas Argentinas, Aeromexico, Air Europa, Alitalia, China Airlines, China Eastern, China Southern Airlines, CSA, Delta, Garuda Indonesia, Kenya Airways, Korean, MEA, Saudia, Tarom, Vietnam Airlines and Xiamen Airlines.